Dot World Technologies…..What the hell

So I got this email today, from a company called Dot World Technologies. This email is such as follows:

Dear Webmaster,

We have visited your site http://www.dansrantcorner.com  and found it quite impressive.

Our site is in a similar vein to yours and we are seeking high quality and related sites to help get our site off the ground and get some initial page rank happening. If you could provide us with a link back then would be much appreciative.

While there isnt a hugely tangible benefit to you linking to us our site will develop strongly over time and prove very useful to small and medium business owners who will benefit from finding a suitable tech to assist them with their business.

I would really appreciate if you add my site with this information.

Link Details:
Title: Dirt Cheap Airline Tickets
URL: http://www.dirtcheapairlineticket.org

Thanks & Regards,
John B.
dirtcheapairlineticket@dwtseo.com
http://www.dirtcheapairlineticket.org

 

Please note, all the links have been broken to AVOID actually linking to the site.  The only thing I left was the mailto email address with the hope that it will get spammed to hell.  My response is a follows, and I think it sums up my rant rather nicely:

 


Nice to see such a lovely auto-generated message….  The short answer is, piss off.  The long answer is, how in the hell is my rantings ANYTHING AT ALL like airline tickets!?!?  I deal with stupidity on a daily basis but you have without a doubt taken the cake.  Just thinking about how stupid you must be give me a splitting headache.  I truly hope that you burn forever in hell and that your very existence is nothing short of painful.  Please, kindly, remove my site, email, and anything else tied to me from any and all databases, email lists, web sites, etc.  Thank you and have a wonderful day,

Dan


 

Anyway, I don’t really have anything to add to that, so that will be all.

8 Responses to “Dot World Technologies…..What the hell”

  1. Callavy says:

    Dan,
    Even i am also getting few link request. But i don’t think it is wrong.

    Callavy

  2. Dan says:

    I don’t think that link requests, in and of themselves, are wrong. I think that the form letter request, never even been to the site, auto-generated requests (as this obviously is) is wrong. It’s clear by the message that they just scraped my email address from a whois record and blasted out the message without a human ever reading it.

  3. Pete says:

    Dan,

    Don’t you think this is a bit of an overreaction? Someone is doing his job and trying to build website rankings– some aren’t as good at it as others, but at least he is finding ways to build organic traffic throug white hat methods.

    I had to use a fake email address so you don’t “spam the hell” out of it.

  4. Dan says:

    Pete,

    Not really, no. I’m quite certain that this “company” simply scrape
    d my email from the whois record and blasted out a message ha
    ving no idea whatsoever what my site was even about. I’m also quite
    certain that they never even visited the site. I
    have a special email I use just for my whios record so I can filter out these messages
    and scan through them quickly.

    I’m not sure why you felt the need to do this though. I have never sent a single spam message in my life. If you were that nervous to post, you should have just gone away. Nobody forced you to post anything.

  5. Juliano says:

    Dan, You are trying make the small issue into big, Hope they are just creating backlinks. If you are not interested, you should simply avoid that mail, Everyday we are getting many spam mails, But we just block the id.

    I don’t know, why you are so hard on this?

  6. Dan says:

    Perhaps, but I have very little patience for companies that can’t CLEARLY state what they do. When it comes to something shady like this, I have to stop and think “now why are they talking to me?” I run a very small blog, VERY small. I know this. It’s here, really, for my own personal amusement and nothing more. Why would anybody be interested in that? The traffic I generate hardly ever causes a blip on my radar. At BEST I check it once a week. I have no real readers, nobody subscribes to it, and for the most part people only hit it though the occasional Google search.

    That being said, however, this site in NO WAY corresponds to the topic of said site that contacted me. Had anybody take the time to actually visit my site I’m certainly sure that they would have seen this. I’m also sure had it been a legitimate request that they could have done better that the “form letter” that was sent to me.

    Oh, and just in case you were wondering. I really don’t care if they were just looking for backlinks. I am not, and will not, ever be in this to make any money. It’s a place for me, to share my opinion and views and nothing more. It’s not intended to generate even a single cent and honestly, I really don’t care how many people read it.

    Just my 2 cents, It’s my blog, I can say whatever the hell I want. Get over it….

  7. Steve says:

    Dan, You are trying make the small issue into big, Hope they are just creating backlinks. If you are not interested, you should simply avoid that mail, Everyday we are getting many spam mails, But we just block the id.

    I don’t know, why you are so hard on this?

  8. Emily says:

    Dan,
    Even i am also getting few link request. But i don’t think it is wrong.

    Callavy

Leave a Reply

Bad Behavior has blocked 466 access attempts in the last 7 days.

FireStats icon Powered by FireStats